massagenomad.blogg.se

Lifehacker search for text in files
Lifehacker search for text in files











  1. #LIFEHACKER SEARCH FOR TEXT IN FILES OFFLINE#
  2. #LIFEHACKER SEARCH FOR TEXT IN FILES FREE#
  3. #LIFEHACKER SEARCH FOR TEXT IN FILES MAC#

But over the years that it has lagged, I’ve come to rely on a lot of Chrome extensions, and I’m not dying to search and calibrate their Firefox equivalents. Firefox has caught up with Chrome in terms of speed and capabilities. You might really want to switch to a browser that prioritizes privacy instead of connecting you to Google services. I have no mental room for another command line. It’s hard for me to figure out which tasks with Siri are faster and which are slower. So I can’t recommend paying $ 20 for this.

#LIFEHACKER SEARCH FOR TEXT IN FILES FREE#

I can’t get rid of the habit of using the default Contacts app, no matter how bad it is, or starting conversations in different apps, even if later I find myself looking for old messages – did I send Cole this link via Google Hangouts, Twitter DM or text?Īfter a couple of weeks, I stopped using my free review copy of Cardhop.

lifehacker search for text in files

Instead of searching through different communication channels, I could start each interaction from the Cardhop app, using it as a command line like Spotlight or Chrome’s address bar.īut, as I wrote back then, the hardest part about Cardhop is remembering to use it. Cardhop had to reinvent the way it interacts with its contacts. I love Flexibits’ Fantastical calendar app, so I wanted to love their newest app too. Or, if you’re like me, you don’t really need a bucket for everything. If you need to combine both, you can use OneNote or Google Keep. If I’m working on a visual project, I sometimes save things to my personal Tumblr (free). The vast majority of my notes are text, so I’m fine with notes (and sometimes Wunderlist for list-based notes).

#LIFEHACKER SEARCH FOR TEXT IN FILES OFFLINE#

But when I hit the limits of the free version (two devices per user, no offline mobile access), I realized that I could easily get by with simpler apps instead of paying $ 8 a month for Evernote Premium. I used to save interesting snippets of “inspiration” in this scrapbook app, saving images, ideas, web pages that might have been deleted. Why can’t a bunch of notes app handle this without resorting to pseudocode solutions like Markdown? Why is it so hard to use bold and italics? I don’t want to resort to heavy subscription-based apps like Evernote.

#LIFEHACKER SEARCH FOR TEXT IN FILES MAC#

Hell, the Mac Stickies app supports text formatting. I really don’t get it! All old style text editors have WYSIWYG formatting: Word, Google Docs, TextEdit, Notepad.

lifehacker search for text in files

Because, very importantly, Notes supports basic text formatting.Īll worthy competitors to Notes have Text or Markdown only.

lifehacker search for text in files

I’m even used to the bad default immutable font. It syncs easily via iCloud, is searchable, uses folders. But while some of my Lifehacker colleagues use third-party note-taking apps like Bear and Simplenote, I’m happy with Notes. I am ashamed when I like the standard Apple apps. I haven’t installed them on my new Mac, and I’m curious how many of you have ditched them too. In that spirit, here are Lifehacker approved apps that I have stopped using. If I could push one disclaimer in every Lifehacker article, it would be: Not every hacker, tip, or app is for everyone.













Lifehacker search for text in files